Food Failures and Successes

by nakedlvng

One of the biggest challenges I face is with my eating habits. I have developed some bad habits over the years and they work their way back into my life on occasion. This is one of the first problems I am working on changing and I am going to use the core concepts of naked living to do so.

I think simplicity will be the key to my success in this. Creating a way of eating for myself that is enjoyable, sustainable, and simple will hopefully reduce or eliminate the failures I have encountered in the past.

For the past few months I have been trying to eat a Paleo inspired diet, and on average I have done pretty well, but there are still times when I get it wrong. Additionally the cost and rarity of some of the key ingredients for a lot of the recipes I find, make this a diet that is not really in keeping with some of the core values I want to stick with.

I will give you an example: Coconut Flour. I can get this at my local grocery store. The cost is pretty high so I use it sparingly. But I live in the southeastern US and I do not have coconut trees nearby, so this is not really an ingredient a paleolithic hunter-gatherer would have had access to in my area.

Now I know that the Paleo diet is not really after a true paleolithic diet otherwise I would be eating quite a few more insects and much less bacon. Yet, I do want to be a little more honest with what I eat. To this end I am going to focus more on locally produced items; fruits, vegetables, livestock, and even (gasp) grains.

At first glance this may not seem simple. I agree. But I think over time it will become simple. It will break down like this; if I do not grow it or buy it locally – meaning it is produced relatively near by –  then I will not eat it.

For certain this will not be a quick change as I do not have a garden ready and I am going to have to learn more about what is on and what is off that list, but I already have a pretty good idea of what would fall into the approved category so I will start there. Local resources are going to need to come into play as well. There are three farmers markets that I know of, one is relatively close at hand, the other two are not. Local co-op food boxes are available, which I have done in the past, and I may need to look into that again.

This challenge at least gives me something to focus on for a while, so we shall see how it goes.

