A naked life

by nakedlvng

I am trying to live a naked life.

What does that mean? Well, when I address my naked life, I am going to be looking at it from a few core principles: self-sufficiency, low-impact living, minimalism, environmental responsibility, frugality, responsible consumerism, and naturism. All of these concepts are centered around creating a life that is a step or two away from current “Western” living.

Why live this way? In short the answer is because I can. I am single and my responsibilities are limited. For me this is a non-scientific experiment on how I can live my life in a way that I feel good about.

To be blunt, I am increasingly tired of the pace of life today. Everything is rushed and we feel obligated to receive instant satisfaction. I am no exception to this; I like being able to switch over to Netflix and watch a movie or TV show instantly, or pull up a music service and listen to just about anything I want at any time.

But at what cost? I, for one, am becoming increasingly anti-social. I have few friends and there are few activities I participate in. Life for the past several years has been work at a job I get no satisfaction from, go home to an empty house, entertain myself with the same content over and over,  sleep poorly, and then start over again. This lifestyle has messed me up.

So I have made some changes and am continuing to make changes and I want to document those to see what works and what does not.

I know that some changes will fail, especially if I try to change too many things at once. I already had my first failure the other day when I re-subscribed to Netflix. So there will be those bad days and good days. I hope the good days outnumber the bad, and if nothing else, at least I am trying.

